Posts Tagged ‘education’

Delicious Links for January 27, 2010

January 28, 2010 @ 6:17 am | Filed under: Links

iPad @ Publisher’s Weekly

“The device was demoed with newspaper content from the New York Times and supports video and audio embedded in the content. Most importantly, the iPad will support the ePub e-book standard and Apple has developed its own e-reader software, iBooks, and will also launch an iBookstore. E-book pricing is reported to be in the $15 range.”

Confused Texas Education Board bans kids’ author from curriculum | News for Dallas, Texas | Dallas Morning News | Texas Regional News

“In its haste to sort out the state’s social studies curriculum standards this month, the State Board of Education tossed children’s author Martin, who died in 2004, from a proposal for the third-grade section. Board member Pat Hardy, R-Weatherford, who made the motion, cited books he had written for adults that contain “very strong critiques of capitalism and the American system.

“Trouble is, the Bill Martin Jr. who wrote the Brown Bear series never wrote anything political, unless you count a book that taught kids how to say the Pledge of Allegiance, his friends said. The book on Marxism was written by Bill Martin, a philosophy professor at DePaul University in Chicago. “

Cybils: REVIEW Anything But Typical by Nora Raleigh Baskin

“This absorbing story told from the viewpoint of Jason, a boy with autism, would appeal to readers who enjoyed The London Eye Mystery or The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, says Abby.”

Links for July 20, 2008

July 20, 2008 @ 4:00 am | Filed under: Links

Links for July 19, 2008

July 19, 2008 @ 6:03 am | Filed under: Links

  • Frustrated parents sneak ‘old math’ to kids – CNN.com – “They call it the Math Wars: The debate, at times acrimonious, over which way is best to teach kids math. In its most black-and-white form, it pits schools hoping to prepare kids for a new world against reluctant parents who feel that the traditional way is best and that their kids are being shortchanged.” (See comments for a link to a very interesting blog post on this topic.)
  • The Yale Law Journal – “Home Schooling” in California – Yale Law Journal report on CA homeschooling case: "The views expressed above are consistent with the amicus brief filed by the Department in the Rachel L. case on behalf of State Superintendent of Public Instruction Jack O’Connell."

Links for June 23, 2008

June 24, 2008 @ 4:02 am | Filed under: Links

UPDATE: The court heard arguments all day and now the ball’s in their hands. They have up to 90 days to make a ruling, but I doubt it will take that long. I read a good summary of the oral arguments that were presented and will post a link when I find one. (The summary came via email.) Sounds like there were no surprises.

Links for June 3, 2008

June 4, 2008 @ 4:00 am | Filed under: Links