The Martha and Charlotte Years

The Martha Years books are a series of four novels about Laura Ingalls Wilder’s great-grandmother, Martha Morse Tucker.

Martha was born in Scotland; her father was a small landowner, a laird. She emigrated to America and was married to a Scotsman named Lewis Tucker in Boston on January 1, 1799. Among their children was a girl named Charlotte, who would grow up to marry Henry Quiner and give birth to Laura Ingalls Wilder’s mother, Caroline.

Charlotte’s story is told in the Charlotte Years books.

The Little House books in chronological order

Books about Martha Morse

Resources and activities for exploring Scotland with Martha

Books about Charlotte Tucker

Charlotte Years resource and activity page

For more information about my source material and inspiration for the Martha and Charlotte books, visit my FAQ or explore the Little House archive on my blog, Here in the Bonny Glen.

Martha illustration by Renee Graef. Charlotte illustration by Dan Andreasen.