Delicious Links for January 27, 2010

January 28, 2010 @ 6:17 am | Filed under: Links

iPad @ Publisher’s Weekly

“The device was demoed with newspaper content from the New York Times and supports video and audio embedded in the content. Most importantly, the iPad will support the ePub e-book standard and Apple has developed its own e-reader software, iBooks, and will also launch an iBookstore. E-book pricing is reported to be in the $15 range.”

Confused Texas Education Board bans kids’ author from curriculum | News for Dallas, Texas | Dallas Morning News | Texas Regional News

“In its haste to sort out the state’s social studies curriculum standards this month, the State Board of Education tossed children’s author Martin, who died in 2004, from a proposal for the third-grade section. Board member Pat Hardy, R-Weatherford, who made the motion, cited books he had written for adults that contain “very strong critiques of capitalism and the American system.

“Trouble is, the Bill Martin Jr. who wrote the Brown Bear series never wrote anything political, unless you count a book that taught kids how to say the Pledge of Allegiance, his friends said. The book on Marxism was written by Bill Martin, a philosophy professor at DePaul University in Chicago. “

Cybils: REVIEW Anything But Typical by Nora Raleigh Baskin

“This absorbing story told from the viewpoint of Jason, a boy with autism, would appeal to readers who enjoyed The London Eye Mystery or The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, says Abby.”


    Related Posts

  • Sometimes I just steal stuff from Scott's Facebook page.
    Sometimes I just steal stuff from Scott’s Facebook page.
  • SDCC posts a-coming
    SDCC posts a-coming
  • Thursday Links
    Thursday Links
  • Oh the suspense!
    Oh the suspense!
  • Links for June 20, 2008
    Links for June 20, 2008

Comments

3 Responses | | Comments Feed

  1. UNbelievable on the Bill Martin story.

    Unfortunately, I can’t get to the link from DadTalk?

  2. Thanks for the heads-up. Broken link now fixed!

  3. Oh this makes me mad. So what that they have the wrong Martin. Why should it be that if Karl Marx had written a kid’s book on polar bears, it wouldn’t be allowed in curriculum?